Should I pursue a Masters degree in computer science, considering that I have a mental illness?

General philosophy message board for Discussion and debate on other philosophical issues not directly related to veganism. Metaphysics, religion, theist vs. atheist debates, politics, general science discussion, etc.
teo123
Master of the Forum
Diet: Vegan

Should I pursue a Masters degree in computer science, considering that I have a mental illness?

Post by teo123 »

In Friday last week, I graduated with a Bachelor degree in computer science from the FERIT university. My Bachelor thesis will only be published onto DABAR around a month from now. Namely, I missed the deadline by a few weeks, and DABAR is currently not allowing uploads. I told them I missed the deadline because I was not able to work on the thesis because of my psychotic disorder (which is actually not true, I was able to), so they let me submit the thesis after the deadline without having to pay 2'000 kunas as penalty. But I am not able to start studying for a Masters degree this year nor will I immediately get a diploma (I will get a diploma somewhere in mid-December) nor will I immediately get my Bachelor thesis published on DABAR.
So, what do you guys think, should I pursue a Masters degree the next year?
I am asking because many people on the Internet are advising people with mental illness not to pursue a PhD because doing a PhD is tough on mental health. In my opinion, they are right. But, what do you think, does the same thing apply to pursuing a Master's degree in some difficult topic such as computer science?
In Croatia, people who have finished the Bachelor degree in computer science (which lasts three years) mostly pursue a Master's degree (which lasts two years). I am afraid that, if I don't pursue a Master's degree, the employers would ask me why.
teo123
Master of the Forum

Re: Should I pursue a Masters degree in computer science, considering that I have a mental illness?

Post by teo123 »